2003-05-26 � The story of how I got the gift of sight.
Alright, I guess now is as good a time as any to sit down and write something substantial.

I'm still in Columbus. We're leaving pretty soon though. I am drinking this ginger ale but it tastes really weird so I think I'll give it up.

So I suppose you all are wondering how my surgery went. Well, I guess I'll give you a step by step story of this weekend.

Friday at around 2 we arrive in Columbus. We check into Lasik Eye Center and they tell us "Oh it will be about an hour." Well "about an hour" turned to "about 5 hours" sitting in a crowded waiting room. I guess it wasn't that bad since we did get a chance to go over to this charming little Italian bistro and I discovered the food of the gods: creme brulee. I had my little bottle of valium that I was OH so looking forward to for the surgery. It was a small orange bottle with one little salmon colored pill in it. Enough to relax me for the surgery. I was supposed to take it when I got to the pre-op room cause that meant I was 20 mins away from surgery. Well, I took it and yeah..it was 2 hours away from surgery it wore off before I got in there. Let me tell you, it's NOT a pleasent experience. Especially if you've always had a phobia about people touching your eyes. They first put in these numbing drops (numbing my ass) and then put this thing over your eye like a contact lens except a lot more painful. And then they yell "Suction" and you can guess what happens next. Then you can hear the lazor like some enormous bumble bee coming right at your eye and the smell of it burning your cornea smells like burnt hair. Then, after its all over, they put these "protective shields" taped to your head and these sunglasses on and send you off back into the waiting room to greet your family in your new attractive look. Afterwards, you are supposed to go home and sleep for 8 hours because that means you'll be unconsious for the most painful part. Well, I slept for an hour and a half. I woke up at around 10 pm in excrutiating pain. My eyes were burning and tearing and there was nothign I could do about it because I can't touch my eye. I guess it came as quite a shock to me because I started having a panic attack. I felt like I was going to throw up and Jamie says I was somewhat hysterical. Thank God Jamie came with us. He sat with me and rubbed my back and kissed my head and soothed me during all of it. He brought me up warm milk and helped me get my mind off the pain by talking to me about our wedding and our kids and our life together. It worked and I slept the rest of the night. When I woke up, it was a whole new world. Everything is crystal clear and I am no longer a prisoner in a plastic frame prison. It feels like I set my eyes free. It's a little peculiar though because I've worn glasses all my life and now, when I wake up, I have nothing to put on. It feels weird not to feel my glasses on my nose. It's WONDERFUL though. I see better then I ever did even WITH glasses. Every day is exciting. There are some rules though for a little while.

1. No makeup for a week. Then I have to buy NEW makeup for my eyes.

2. I have to wear this HORRIBLE sunglasses everytime I go outside during the day for a month.

3. Eye drops 5 times a day for 5 days.

4. No swimming for a month.

5. No rubbing my eyes for a month.

6. I have to shower with my back to the water for one month.

And thats it. When I was in that excrutiating pain, I didn't think it was worth it. Now that things have calmed down, I'm not too sure what I think but I think it is. It feels like I got a beautiful gift that was deprived from me for my whole life.

After all of this, we had quite a weekend. Went to Polaris for a whole of 5 hours, to mention one. Well, omelets are ready so I better get going.