July 27, 2006 � Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery? I don't FEEL flattered
Ok this is a really long story but I'm going to try and condense it.

Alright so here it goes.

I have been friends with this girl for 10 years. We talk at least once a day and she brings her son (who is a little younger than Marci) over to play a lot. So I guess you could say we are pretty close. She is in the middle of a seperation and has been talking to this guy in the military for about 3 months. She talks about him a lot and told me that the reason they can't get together whenever he comes home is because she wants to wait for her divorce to be final for the sake of her son. Understandable, right? So, when she would tell me about them getting in fights over this, I always wondered why he didn't understand her reasoning.

Now I know.

Yesterday, I get on my myspace and I have this in my message box:
you have an impersonator. you should be flattered. they've been fooling me for the last few months.

you can probably guess who it is, since the name they use on there is real, but nothing else is. if you can't figure it out, let me know.

check out www.myspace.com/(the girl's myspace name here)

you'll see a familiar face. any questions let me know.

Dave

At first, I'm confused. I have been friend's with this chick for a long time so I didn't immediatly think the worse of her. I asked her about it, and she mentioned how he found her myspace and emailed that to everyone on her top 8 and told me not even to respond, and then she changed the subject. But...that didn't make sense either. Then I started getting some ideas in my head, but I didn't want to entertain them until I heard it out of his mouth. So I wrote him back. And this is the response I get:
oh. i just looked and they completely deleted the profile. too bad. someone had taken a bunch of pictures of yours, apparently off your profile, and created a fake persona. i'd been led to believe you were a 24 yr old broadway actress in new york who grew up in chicago and then went to julliard in nyc.

the person i was really talking to is apparently a chick named melanie who is married but seperated, has a son named ethan, and is a senior at kent state getting a nursing degree. maybe you know her.

it looks as if her real profile has now become private as well, but her friend liz still has a link to her profile

i dunno, it's a little strange, because for the last couple months i've been talking to someone on the phone who had sent me your pictures and i'd totally thought it was you, or at least you physically with this totally made up actress persona. rather unsettling if you can imagine that. make sense?

Yes. It did make sense. Now that I started thinking about it. So many times has this girl asked me for my picture within the last 4-5 months. For all kinds of reasons. "I'm in a photography class at Kent.", "I'm making a scrapbook.", "Hey these pictures are cute of you. Can I take them home and scan them so you can put them in your myspace album?" I never thought anything of it that I never got those pictures from her to put on my myspace, or that I never saw this scrapbook, or that the summer photography class at school doesn't start for two more weeks. I 100% completly trusted her. Why wouldn't I? She was my friend. Was being the key term in that sentence.

Once, she asked me to take a picture holding a sign that said "Hi Dave" b/c she said he was really eager to see what her friends looked like. The day she asked, Marci was really sick, but she insisted on coming over anyway. She was REALLY persistant about getting it done ASAP and that creeped out Jamie. He didn't want me to do it, but I didn't see the harm in it, so I told her to come by the next day. And I sat on my couch, holding that fucking sign, with no notion in my head that I was being used as a pawn in her little fantasty world.

It goes even deeper and gets more disturbing. I wrote him back to see what else she had been telling him or what else was going on, and we messaged back and forth all night and here are clips from his emails. There are a lot of them and they are all really long so I am just filtering out the main stuff.

" I was told she'd gotten divorced from her husband jamie (who i guess is your husband's name) back like a year ago. If I'd thought for a second she was still married I'd have never given her the time of day."

"I sure did get a picture of you holding a sign saying hi dave. I was wondering how she pulled that off, since I've been suspicious for quite a while that something was up. How did she convince you to take that? And yeah, I have a veritable library of pictures of you...But after looking at your profile and realizing she' sent me every picture I've seen on there...yeah, wow. "

"her friend liz was the one who clued me in to exactly what was going on. She said she'd finally gotten sick of melanie's lies and that she couldn't stand it any more. I'm glad she had the backbone to do that. I didn't tell melanie that liz told me everything, I just told melanie that liz told me her myspace account and that I then saw the real melanie's profile and figured it out quickly from there. That was done to keep liz from getting in too much hot water, although she deserves to be in some ht water since she had talked to me on the phone several times using fake voices pretending to be some of melanie's other made up friends. "

"Your friend Rose's pictures were used to be "kate" who was supposedly a jewish sex addict from brooklyn with lesbian tendencies that melanie had fooled around with a few times. "

"There was also "erica" her beautiful teenage sister, who she sent pictures of, and I have no idea who she really is, haven't seen her pictures floating around on any of your friends' profiles. and now that i look a little more closely, I think she used your friend bridget as her pretend younger sister erica..."

"In the pics with your daughter she said she was a friend's"

"Shed said she lived in New York and was in the process of moving to LA for an acting job on General Hospital. "

"I see that your cat is Pywacket. She often spoke lovingly of HER cat Pywacket"

So, thats it so far. I just feel really violated and betrayed. I'm not sure how to handle all of this right now. I just feel really used. I can't stop thinking about it. I even dreamt about it. I guess we'll see what happens. RETRACTION: In my first posting of this entry, I said I thought it was 6 months that she was talking to him. This was not a lie, just a misunderstanding. It was only 3 months and I'd like to clarify that.p>

"