February 28, 2005 � My lips are chapped and I dropped a highchair on my foot
This weekend wasn't as very much expected as I expected. My plans with Emily and Friends flopped so I missed her 21st, something I didn't want to do. I think I am farther from the loop then ever before and missing Saturday night just sinched that. Well, story of my life.

ok, well, seeing as I have worked in many a different restaurant, I think I should inform the rest of society the points of restaurant edicate on behalf of my fellow servers, hostesses, cooks, bartenders ect. Some people have NO idea what we go through and act like complete idiots and annoy the SHIT outta us. So, here ya go...the ultimate list. Take this list and use it for bettering yourselves.

THINGS EVERYONE SHOULD KNOW ABOUT RESTAURANTS!

1.Coming in on a Saturday night with 15 of your stupid friends and just expecting to get sat is one of the MOST irritating things ever. Before you do this people, please...stop and think of your actions. Almost every place takes reservations for a party that size so stop being ignorant. All parties 8 or more should be called ahead first!

2.When we tell you it's going to be a 30 minute wait before you get sat, don't come up and complain to us after 20 minutes.

3.If you see empty tables and we are on a wait, don't come up and point out "all the empty tables" to us. It's not like "oh wow! I'm sorry! I'm completly BLIND AND completly stupid and I didn't see those there but thank you SO much for showing me!" NO! There is a good reason you're not getting those tables. Same with people who you may think came in after you and got sat before you. We're not trying to purposely spite you...chances are, they were here first and you just didn't see them.

4.If your food is cold, taking a long time, burnt, doesn't taste good ect, it's not the servers fault. They have nothing to do with it, so don't take it out on them.

5.Your server isn't purposely ignoring you. You are not there only table, so wait patiently.

6.When you suck down your drink like a camel and expect the server to keep bringing you new ones right away, you're an idiot.

7.If you have been waiting for a table for an hour, and then you sit down and see the restaurant is packed, don't expect your food within 5 minutes. There are only so many cooks and so many orders. Only if you wait more then 20 minutes should you complain.

AND THE ABSOLUTE MOST IMPORTANT THING EVERYONE SHOULD KNOW

8. SERVERS ONLY MAKE 2.13 AN HOUR! There income is based almost ENTIRELY on your tips! And you know what? If your a shitty tipper, no one is going to want to wait on you and we'll all be bitching about you in the kitchen. So stop being so cheap and tip well. And by "well" I don't mean 13%.

Well, thats all....I feel good getting that off my chest.