February 13, 2006 � Shell Shock
They fired me.

They ACTUALLY fired me.

I have never been fired in my life and I certainly never expected to be fired from there.

I didn't do anything! I really didn't do anything. I said "I need to calm down before you seat me again b/c I'm about to flip out and cry." And I said that in a calm tone and I wasn't even talking to my boss. I didn't say I'm not taking tables. I didn't say I wouldn't close. I was just saying that before I am sat again, that I need to settle down b/c I was very angry. Isn't that the responsible thing to do? Can someone explain this to me?

Not once in three years have I ever complained or whined or bitched. I have always complied with whatever...even if it meant I got screwed over. Jill, my one boss and Ray's (my other boss--the one that fired me) wife, has called me for favors ALL the time. Asked if she could take me off the floor and put me on hostess so she could use the other hostess to babysit for her. And every single time I said yes--even though it meant me losing a lot of money. I did it b/c I liked her and respected her.

I have never ONCE had an incident. Ever. I have never got yelled at, scolded, or anything. My only flaw is that sometimes I'm a couple minutes late. I've never not shown up for a shift, never called off for a stupid reason.

I was fiercely loyal. I left Alberini's...even though I made a lot more money there...b/c of how much I loved Damons. I always considered Ray and Jill the best bosses I've ever had. It wasn't just a job...it was my family..my home. It was my WHOLE social unit.

I'm really depressed.

And whats worse, is he never told me directly I was fired. He told everyone else. He said he didn't care if he ever saw me again. And whats WORSE, he said I wasn't welcome at Libby (my other boss)'s baby shower the next morning.

What the fuck?

You can't treat people like that. It's REALLY ridiculas and disrespectful.

I wrote Jill a long detailed letter. It wasn't mean...it was hurt. It showed how much that hurt me.

I've seen far worse get punished far less.

I've seen servers throw trays and scream "FUCK YOU" at another server in the middle of the restaurant on a busy Saturday night...then go throw his money in our pregnant manager's face. And do you know what they did to him? They chased him and tried to calm him down and told him its ok.

I've seen servers completly not come in for their shift and barely get a slap on the wrist.

I've seen people get drunk or get high at work with my boss knowing. Putting Jack Danial's in a kid's cup.

I've seen people scam that restaurant up and down and even though I have the same ability to do so, I never could b/c I felt too guilty.

And *I'm* fired for THIS?

No No No...

If Jill doesn't offer me my job back tomorrow morning (she wants me to call her) then I'll be talking to a lawyer on Weds.

Fuck.