September 01, 2006 � Maybe only 4 more weeks?!
Wow. I've had a pretty eventful couple of days since I posted last.

Well, at about 6:30 Thursday night, I started leaking watery fluid. At first, I wasn't TOO concerned about it because it wasn't a whole lot, but I was still debating whether to call my midwife. I called Jamie at work and asked him what I should do and he told me to call the midwife, just to be safe.

So I called Kim (My MW), expecting her to tell me something like "keep your feet up" or something along those lines, but immediatly, her tone changed and she said "You need to go to labor and delivery and get checked out now. If you have a leak, then you could end up with an infected baby." I called Jamie and he left work right away, had my neice Julia come over, and by 9, I was laying in a hospital bed. It took that long b/c I debated for about an hour on whether I should call Kim.

Before I go on, I would like to tell a sub story about a good example of the kind of verbal diarreha I have a lot. I come out of the little bathroom from taking off all my clothes and putting on the little hospital gown that always seems to hang losely around parts I don't nessecarily want on display, and the nurse says "Make sure you take off your panties too." And instead of saying "Sure.." or even better, saying nothing, I said "Oh I wasn't wearing any in the first place." Right after I said it, I closed my eyes and turned to Jamie to see him with this look of "What the hell is wrong with you?" on his face, then I turned to nurse who I could tell was pretending not to have heard me. Ok I just wanted to get that documented somewhere. I think I should be a case study for people with no control of their speech sometimes, but I do these kinds of things a lot.

Ok, back to things..

So, they do all these to see if it was amniotic fluid, which, it turned out not to be, so that was good. But, while I was in there and I was hooked up to a monitor and everything, I started having real contractions 8 minutes apart! It was terrible!

I had to have three seperate shots. I've never had a shot before in my life, and now I have three in one night. One was a steroid to help her lungs mature faster that I had to go and get a second dose of 24 hours later (last night), the second was something to make the contractions stop and the side effects made me feel like my heart was going to burst from my chest and my hands were shaking, the third was a muscle relaxer with the opposite side effects of the second shot, but the two combined gave me a really weird doped up feeling...and not in a good feeling. It lasted all day yesterday too.

Kim had me come in for a follow up yesterday morning, and it turns out I'm already dialating and my cervix is soft. When she did my internal at the hospital, it wasn't like that, so it happened overnight. So now, I'm on "light duty" which is one step away from bed rest. I pretty much can't do a whole lot at all. I just hope they don't put me on full bed rest.

None of us think I'm going to make it to my due date at ALL, so we moved up the shower to Sept 25th instead of Oct 8th, and I really really want to go at least 4 more weeks because then, she'll be 36 weeks and won't have to be in the NICU (Neonatal intensive care unit) and I can take her home as if she was born full term. So now I feel really stressed and rushed and nervous and excited all at the same time.

Well, I have to go because I'm still feeling shitty and I need to go put my head down.