December 08, 2008 � The Difference Between Diamonds and Cut Glass
Don't mind me if I'm quiet during this 20 minute car ride.

I'm trying to focus these thoughts

and turn them into something brilliant

instead of the usual jokes I'm used to.

And its always the same punch line

all the time

with me.

I'm sick of laughing and choking and coming up with the same life I've always had.

My house will always be messy more than its clean

and my ideas will never be more than that;

ideas.

And it scares me to write that because I'm afraid if I do

it will never change.

People always like me.

But where does that get me?

Pay me for my personality.

I've never had a problem being the funny girl.

The pretty girl.

The girl with all the sunshine.

But all thats good for is free drinks and big tips.

I try to come off as an artist.

All I preach

art

art

art.

But I haven't painted anything lately but my nails

and all I've written is shitty poetry where I try to sound deep and original

instead of writing whats inside me.

Who cares if its good?

Are you trying to sell it?

And I need to find myself

but think if I start looking, I'll find nothing.

It got misplaced in the clutter of deaths

and winters

and boxes

and cities

and baby clothes.

I remember that night sitting with Grayson after work.

Talking aout how he was older and wiser then my 18 years

but not by much.

And he told me "I've never met anyone like you, kid.

I think you can be anything you want."

And I don't know why

but that meant something.

Maybe it was his name I fell in love with.

But now the only way I get inspiration is to smoke it.

So I pack it in

and light it up

and jot down whatever comes out, hoping its gold.

I feel like my heart is caged in my body by more than my ribs.

Beating.

Beating.

Beating.

Hoping someone hears it

and loves it

and makes me smile the kinds of smiles you see in the movies.

Because right now, its breaking.

knowing I let you down

and letting myself put red before green.

Now I'm faced with the realization that

all that stuff I love,

all that art,

is nothing on a resume.

And I'm just a waitress.

Doing the same thing since 15.

Thats all I've accomplished.

Served the world steak and warmed its coffee with my burning dreams.

And I'm funny

and pretty

and told I have sunshine.

But where does that get me?

So, come on.

Pay me for my personality

so I can go back to my breakfast.