October 16, 2005 � The AHHHHHHHH day
Today was a fucking bullshit day at work. First off, I feel the sickest I've felt for a long time. So, I go in and I ask my manager Libby if I can go home early and she says "Well, the other hostess comes in at 12. You can go home then." Woot. Well, the Steelers aren't on regular tv, so its not too long before our whole restaurant is a mass of black and gold. There was literally NO where to sit. People would be like "Ok then, we'll go to the bar" and I would say "Yeah, good luck with that." So, admist all this chaos, the other hostess never shows up. I expected when I told people that there is no where to sit and probably won't be until the game is over that they would leave. But no. They wanted to wait. So we had a waiting list with like, 15 names on it and no tables that looked even remotely like they were going to get up. PLUS, one of our servers didn't come so everyone had like 8 or 9 tables. Then you get the people that look into our dining room around the corner and say "There is a bunch of empty tables in here...can't we sit here?" And I said "Yeah you can sit there, but you won't get any service." I wasn't even playing or trying to be polite anymore. This guy was throwing a fit because I told him we had no one to wait on him in the dinining room and at first, I polietly told him that we are under-staffed and all of our servers have 8 tables, but after he kept bitching, I said "Have you ever worked in a restaurant?" And he, of course, answered no, so I say "Thats not a surprise because if you have, then you would know just how hard 8 tables are to manage and you would wait quietly." I'm really surprised he didn't flip out, but he sat there in peace for the rest of the time. Not to mention the incredible bulk of take outs I got and how we kept running out of things. People would order a take out, I would ring it in, then the cooks would be like "Yeah, we don't have that anymore." AHHHH and I felt like I was going to die the whole time. Yeah. Bad day.

Good thing my dad took Marci so I can rest for a little while. He really wants me to go to Toronto with him tomorrow, and I really don't want to go. But he keeps GUILT tripping me. I say "Dad, I really don't feel good" and he says "It's a long drive to make alone, Kate." Yeah, real nice. I have to find a way out of it. He should me a guilt travel agent. He's good at booking guilt trips.

Thats about all going on.

I just had to vent.