December 22, 2005 � A Sad Day
Wow what a whirlwind couple of days.

It seems like there is no time to get everything that needs done done. Especially since I am working 7 shifts this week. By the time I get home, I'm so exhausted that I don't feel like doing anything.

Yesterday, I was at work from 12-9:30. I know it doesn't seem that long, but when you think you are going to be done at 7, that 2 1/2 extra hours is grueling. I was so irritable and bitter yesterday my head was buzzing. Which, I later today found out was a result from me getting my period. We had a 30 top reservation come in and say "Um actually, there is going to be 80 of us." !!!!!!??? Who does that??? What kind of person would just add 50 more people without ANY type of notice?? We had to go to the store to buy glasses and silverware b/c we didn't have enough! It was so crazy!

The only thing that made it worth it, however, was to see this man propose to his girlfriend. He sang it to her! And he had such a beautiful voice. I started crying b/c I am such a cheese for those things. I must of been creeping them out, however, b/c I was staring at them the whole time with this big creepy grin. But it was still so adorable and romantic. It made my whole night.

And then another incredibly long night tonight. Not as long as last night, but still long none the less. And then tomorrow and the next day. And then I'm done till Thursday!! Oh but wait...all my brothers and sisters and their spouses and kids are coming home for Christmas so my holiday is going to be so crazy and chock full of people. Not too relaxing, but fun.

Even though I want to go into all these random stories of things that touched my heart or annoyed me senseless, or to talk about how much I love my apartment...I can't. I am just too sad right now. We sold Moses tonight. Quite unexpectedly, to tell you the truth. We put an ad in the paper for him last week and everyone who called for him..well..no one sounded "right." Until this woman called today. Her husband died on Sunday and her dog of 10 years was put down last month. She also sounded very nice so she came to look at him with her 2 daughters, and she WAS very nice. And he'll have another dog to play with and she can take him to work with her and she said she'll spoil him and even take him camping in the summer. So, even though my head knows that this is what is best for him, my heart still hurts. I balled my little eyes out. I just can't believe he is actually gone. I know he'll be happy there. I know that...I don't just hope that. And I know that Jamie and I couldn't give him all he needed. But, I feel like I failed him. I feel terrible. So terrible. I called my Dad...b/c, for some reason, whenever my heart is broken, he is always the first one I want to run to. And my Dad said "You should feel happy that you got to do this for this woman. She's lost so much so quickly and you get to be the person to make her happy and give her something that will make her feel less lonely and fill a void." And that helped when he said that. Sigh..I sound like I just gave up my baby for adoption. I'm sorry.

Well, time to throw some chicken into the oven.