November 15, 2004 � Utter dissapointment
Isn't it funny that when bad things happen to you one your birthday, it truly concentrates the bad to the worst? For example, your dog dying is pretty bad, but when it happens on your BIRTHDAY its 10x10x10x10 times worse?

Enter Katesgiving 2004.

My birthday week totally blew. Forget just the fact that my list of friends around here is growing shorter, how about getting in a car accident on your way to celebrate your 21st? How about no one showing up to your party? How about pretty much anything that could go wrong did. This is like some big life lesson or something--don't hope for anything, because when you do, it explodes in your face and all your dreams come crashing down in dust and pieces of debris.

I was very much looking forward to my Friday night party. EVERYONE was invited and I even got my hair done (it looks marvy by the way--[stephie-ism there]). My outfit was smokin, and I looked SUPER hott. Dude, I was a diva. So, we go to O'Donalds as our first stop, and I see Jenna, Jessica Murray, Chris Williams and Donny Fox there. Awesome start of the night (although Donny's not my favorite person). Frankie showed up, Dave was there, and I was in good spirits. So then, since this was a JOINT party with me and Mike, we tell him we're gonna meet him and HIS crew at The Cell. So Jasmine and I are driving driving and what do you know, we get side-swiped by a car in Youngstown. Fun fun fun. Yes we're ok. Yes, the car is pretty damaged. BUT, we did not want to admit defeat yet. After we spent so much money on clothes and our hair, we're not holding up the white flags. So we go to The Cell, and because of the night we were already having, its no surprise that no one else showed up. And it's no surprise that I get a terrible stomach ache (I didn't even DRINK) and have to go home. And its no surprise that at 12:30 that night, my beloved golden retriever Max passed away.

RAH!

I just don't understand how every time I think I can count on someone, they let me down. Everytime I think I can count on ANYTHING, I get let down. DOWN down down down down. The whole world seems to be going down for me right now. I'm losing all these people (and dogs) I thought were constant. I feel the urge to call someone, and who am I gonna call? My cell phone seems full of text now...not people to talk to. Those names in my phone book don't mean what they used to. There just names attached to numbers. Not names attached to security, companionship, laughter, haven.

This isn't all completly true, I should add. I do have a few wonderful friends who live quite a few miles away. Fucking distance.

But...enough of this "woe is me" shit. There are a lot of things that are good. For instance, Jasmine and I could have been really hurt, but we weren't. We could have been drinking and got a DUI, but we didn't. Max could have died in agony or when my dad was gone, but he died peacefully and with my dad right by his side. And I have a gorgeous daughter, a fabulous husband, and a great family. Not to mention a job I like and a Jasmine in my pocket. Plus, my hair is killer.

Well, enough procrastinating on this paper. I better get going.