September 04, 2005 � Hurricane Katrina entry
"Where are you now? As I'm swimming through the stereo, I'm writing you a symphony of sound."~Jack's Mannequin.

So, its been a couple of days. I really haven't felt like writing. That is my only excuse. I don't really even feel like writing now, but I'm forcing it since I have nothing else to do but sit on the computer and listen to my new ipod while Marci sleeps. We have to get her own room set up b/c it sucks when she's sleeping and you can't do anything for fear of waking her up.

Not a lot has really happened. I've been trying to keep up on this whole Hurricane Katrina tragedy. It seems very surreal. I can't believe America isn't taking care of its own people well enough. It seems like if there was ever a sign that we should pull out of the war, that this is it. We should concentrate all our efforts on our own country right now. I think that of all the cities in our nation to be destroyed, that New Orleans is a really sad case. New Orleans was so different and unique. It had its own culture and life to it. In a way, it almost was like another country and I've always admired it for that. I always wanted to go there and now its completly gone. It seems so incredible that such a city could just be wiped out in a couple days. Everything is so sad. I wish there was more I could do to help. Sometimes its hard to watch these things happen and not be able to help really. Yeah, sure, you can donate money but that just seems so mundane. Oh well. Maybe I'll start a hurricane relief thing or something.

And when I read yesterday that 3 babies died of heat exhaustion in the superdome/convention center, I'm not even going to go into how much my heart wrenched. I'm just going to stare at my sleeping toddler who exudes innocence especially when she's sleeping so soundly and think about how lucky I am that she's safe.

Thank you, Lord.