August 25, 2004 � There's a fire in my pants
This might be rushed because my baby is crying and Tia is holding her and I always feel so bad when people are holding her when she's crying.

Anyway, if all I can get in here is this story, then thats good enough.

So yesterday was a fussy baby day (as every day usually is), so I was trying to calm her down. Since she has thrush, I need to boil her pacifiers and bottle nipples. So I put the pot on to boil and am constantly pacing and pacing trying to calm down this little thing. Dave comes over, and we attempt to talk through the crying, but as Jamie and I have learned, thats nearly impossible. So I say "Hey! Lets go take a walk!"

Well, the walking worked MIRACLES. We did a few laps and get back to my building, with the baby fast asleep in the Snugli.

Beep Beep Beep.

My landlord Mary is standing right outside the door. I say hi to her, totally ignoring the beeping. Instead of the friendly hello I was expecting I get "That's your apartment!"

Suddenly, it clicks.

THE STOVE.

I rush into the apartment, and all I can see before I realized I also had the baby was thick thick black smoke.

The fire department arrives....not one fire truck.....not two fire truck...but THREE fire trucks and TWO police cars for my tiny little fire.

The flames were licking my ceiling, and left black shadows on the walls.

A fireman brought out Py to me, as I stand outside in the yard, saying "I can't believe I was so stupid" repeatedly to Dave.

Well, it could have been aLOT worse. There is basically no damage. Just an apartment full of soot.

The most embarrassing thing was that they saw my messy bedroom! I was MORTIFIED!

MORTIFIED!

It was a very embarrassing event after all.

But, I guess I'm glad it happened. I mean, it gave me something to do and talk about.